May 13th, 2006
We love to see a purple state turn blue! Vermont officially moved from a prohibited state to a limited direct state on Thursday when Governor Jim Douglas signed into law S.58. In-state and out-of-state wineries can now apply for a $300 direct shipping license and ship up to 12 cases annually to Vermont consumers. Wineries will be required to file direct shipping, excise, and sales tax reports regularly.
The bill also establishes a $200 self-distribution license for in-state and out-of-state wineries. This establishes a means for wineries to “sell up to 2,000 gallons of vinous beverages a year directly to first or second class licensees” provided the winery ships “no more than 40 gallons of vinous beverages per month to any single first or second-class licensee.”
We’ll post more details as they become available…