Connecticut permit fee clarification

The direct wine shipping permit application process in Connecticut just became a littler clearer thanks to their new forms. The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection Liquor Division has put all of the forms needed to obtain an Out-of-State Shipper�s Permit on their website. The same forms are linked to Wine Institute�s Direct Shipping website. There is now one initial permit fee of $250.00 as well as a $100.00 application filing fee for out-of-state wineries of all sizes. However, out-of-state wineries that provide an affidavit affirming that the winery did not produce more than 100,000 gallons of wine during the most recent calendar year are eligible to ship directly to retailers for no additional fee. These out-of-state wineries must continue to register their brands with the Liquor Control Division and register with the Department of Revenue Services. Labels must be registered by the winery, cost $100.00 per label and must be renewed every 3 years. In addition, wineries must pay excise taxes and 6% sales tax on all shipments to Connecticut consumers.

3 Comments

  1. i want to know more about the quantity that must to made in home for a calendar year or seson

  2. Wineries that produce 100,000 gallons or less are eligable to ship directly to retailers in
    Connecticut (self-distribution). In order take advantage self-distribution of wineries
    must provide an affadavit stating that they have not produced more than 100,000 gallons
    during the last calendar year.

  3. It’s overly simplified to state that the license for CT is $250. That is the fee if the winery produces not more than 100,000 gallons the previous year, making it a “small winery” under CT Gen. Statute 30-18a. A winery producing more than 100,000 gallons would apply for an out-of-state shipper’s permit, costing $1000 plus $100. The holder of either permit may ship to consumers if the holder registers with the Dept. of Revenue Services (DRS).

    DRS defines “small winery” differently. Wineries producing not more than 55,000 gallons per year can pay a smaller excise tax on still wine (as your website explains), provided they file the annual affidavit and pay $50.

    The bond requirements, if one is to register for consumer shipping (I did not see this mentioned in your summary of the law), are a $500 surety bond for the small winery permittee (the 100,000 gallon standard) and $2000 surety bond for the larger winery permittee.

    Because the two permits allow for shipments to wholesalers (which was true before these permits were expanded to include direct consumer sales), “monthly reports” alway include a report of sales to distributors and, if registered with DRS to sell to consumers, an excise tax return and quarterly sales tax return. If the excise tax return must be prepared, it has to include all the CT sales, including those to distributors, retailers and consumers. Only the consumer sales incur excise tax because the other categories are subtracted on the tax form from the monthly sales total as exempt sales. Until they come up with a new form, the State of CT is using form O-255, which was not designed for reporting all the sales. For example, lines 1 and 7 on side two are always left blank for out-of-state wineries.

    As you can see, I have spent a fair amount of time learning the details of their statutory framework. I would be happy to share any of my sources for this information. Thanks for your valuable service to the wine industry.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

banner-promo-ewinery2